Spotlight on Graphic Design: Hannah Haven

The graphic design program is a challenging one, yet it provides students with opportunities to express themselves through art and design, which second year Honors student Hannah Haven takes advantage of.

Photo courtesy of Hannah Haven

Photo courtesy of Hannah Haven

“I chose graphic design because I wanted a career where I could use my creativity and have fun while I work,” said Hannah. “Also, with graphic design, there are many different jobs you could get with the degree, so it’s nice that I can keep my options open and not be stuck with a specific job.”

Some of Hannah's work from earlier this year

Some of Hannah’s work from earlier this year

Hannah currently holds the position of the graphic designer for the Center for Leadership, Activities, and Career Services. She’s been involved in Colleges Against Cancer, and this year is a member of the American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA). Hannah is also a Peer Mentor and a board member of the Honors Peer Mentoring Program and is involved in Intramural Sports.

Hannah initially chose Ferris because her brother and sister attended, but she’s grown to love it on her own.

“I am proud to be part of the Honors Program,” said Hannah. “I feel it has made me strive to be more involved and has made me a better person and leader. Graphic design is a difficult program and it takes a lot of time, but I feel like the students in the program really come together as a family.”

Hannah hopes to one day run her own small-time graphic design firm after moving out West and working for a small company first.

An alphabet collage made by Hannah earlier this year

An alphabet collage made by Hannah earlier this year

Leave a Comment.

